Our Board of Directors


ZL (KK) Combi (61)

Chairperson of the Board, Independent Non-Executive Director, Member of Human Capital Committee and Chairperson of the Nomination Committee
Diploma in Public Relations

KK is the Executive Chairman of Thembeka Capital Ltd. He holds a Diploma in Public Relations and was awarded the Ernst & Young South African of the Year award in 2000, as well as the World Entrepreneur of the Year in Managing Change award in 2001. KK is a member of the Institute of Directors and serves on various listed and unlisted companies’ boards, including PSG Group, Iquad Group and the JSE, as well as the ABSA Bank Advisory Committee (Western Cape).

Director since 29 March 2010.


Norman Celliers (39)

Non-Executive Director, Member of Social and Ethics Committee
B.Eng (Civil), MBA

Norman holds a B.Eng (Civil) degree from the University of Stellenbosch and a MBA from the University of Oxford (England). His professional experience includes engineering, management consulting and private equity in South Africa and abroad. Currently he is the Chief Executive Officer of Zeder Investments Limited.

Director since 1 October 2012.


MM (Thys) du Toit (54)

Independent Non-Executive Director, Chairperson of Human Capital Committee and Member of the Nomination Committee

Thys started his career with George Huysamer & Partners (6 years), then Syfrets Managed Assets (3 years) and in 1993 he was afounding member of Coronation Fund Managers (15 years) where he was CEO for 11 years. During this time Coronation grew from a small fund management business to the second largest independent fund manager in South Africa. Mr du Toit is a Director of a number of companies and runs an investment management business (Rootstock Investment Management) for own account and select HNWI’s/family offices.

Director since 29 March 2010.


NS (Nonhlanhla) Mjoli-Mncube (54)

Independent Non-Executive Director, Member of Audit and Risk Committee
MA in City and Regional planning, Executive leadership qualifications (Harvard and Wharton Universities, USA), post-graduate certificate in technology management (Warwick, UK)

Nonhlanhla is a fellow of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Aspen Global Leadership Institute, USA. She is the former Economic Advisor to the Presidency and former Deputy Chair of the Construction Industry Development Board. Ms Mjoli-Mncube serves on the boards of several listed companies and held executive positions in construction, housing, finance and policy. She is a winner of the SABC Business Woman of the Year Award and manages her own construction company.

Director since 25 November 2004.


Gerrit Pretorius (64)

Lead Independent Non-Executive Director, Member of Human Capital Committee and
Nomination Committee

B.Sc, B.Eng, LL.B, PMD

Gerrit is an Electrical Engineer by qualification and profession. He was an Executive Director and CEO of Reunert Limited until retiring in August 2010 after 37 years of service. Since his retirement, he has been appointed as a Non-Executive Director on the boards of various companies.

Director since 17 February 2012.


LP (Lambert) Retief (60)

Independent Non-Executive Director, Member of Audit and Risk Committee

Lambert is a qualified CA(SA) and currently a Director of Naspers, Media24 and Zeder Investments. He is the Chairperson and former CEO of the Paarl Media Group.

Director since 17 February 2012.


AH (Andile) Hesperus Sangqu (47)

Independent Non-Executive Director, Chairperson of Audit and Risk Committee
B Com (Acc) (Rhodes), B Compt Hons CTA (WSU), H Dip Tax Law (UJ), Executive Development Programme (EDP) (Wits Business School), MBL (UNISA SBL), Advanced Management Programme (AMP) (INSEAD)

Drawing on 14 years of financial management experience at some of South Africa’s revered corporations, Mr Sangqu has garnered a deep understanding of the commercial market and business landscape. He has completed a High Performance Board (HPB) programme at IMD Lausanne campus in Switzerland in October 2013. Mr Sangqu served as Deputy Director General (Finance and Corporate Services) of the National Department of Public Works. He currently serves as Executive Director of Glencore South Africa, having been the former CEO of Prodigy-Coris Asset Management and Managing Director of Budget Foods (Pty) Ltd.

Director since 24 February 2006

Executive-Management_Prof ASM (Mohammad) Karaan

Prof ASM (Mohammad) Karaan (46)

Independent Non-Executive Director, Chairman of Social and Ethics Committee

BSc Agric, BSc Agric (Hons), MSc Agric, PhD

Mohammad joined the Development Bank of Southern Africa as an Economist and later returned to Stellenbosch to join the Rural Foundation as Head of Research. In 1997, he joined the University of Stellenbosch as a Lecturer in Agricultural Economics. In October 2008, he became Dean of the Faculty of Agri Sciences at Stellenbosch University. He is a member of the National Planning Commission and holds other Directorships in the Agri-Business sector.

Director since 29 March 2010.


Phil Roux (49)

Chief Executive Officer
BCom (Hons), MBA

Phil joined Pioneer Foods from Tiger Brands where he held the position of Business Executive: Consumer Brands as well as serving as an Executive Director. He has 25 years’ experience in the fast-moving consumer goods industry in various senior positions, including that of Chief Operating Officer: Africa for Coca Cola SABCO and as a Non-Executive Director of Oceana Group Ltd.

He has been with the Group since April 2013.


Cindy Hess (38)

Chief Financial Officer

Cindy joined the Group from Sea Harvest where she held the position of Financial Director for seven years. She started her career at KPMG in 1999 and has since held executive positions at Woolworths and within the Transnet Group.

She joined the Group in March 2014.


Martin Neethling (51)

Chief Marketing Officer
B.Soc.Sci (Economics, Politics, Bus Admin), MBA

Martin’s career spans 28 years, during which time he has held various senior within the retail, advertising and FMCG sectors, including Managing Director of Berry Bush BBDO, Director for Marketing and Financial Services within the Pepkor Group, and Chairman of Jay Jays. He has more recently been adjunct faculty at both the University of Cape Town and the University of Stellenbosch Business School, and a researcher at the UCT Unilever Institute of Strategic Marketing.

Martin joined the Group in October 2015.